What I want for Christmas

listIn 1989, when my two oldest were six and four, we instituted a family tradition. Everyone was welcome to have a wish list and talk about what was on it. There were a maximum of five items per list. If an item wasn’t on your list, you could not mention that item. You were welcome to add it to your list, but since there was a maximum of five items on a list, you would have to cross something out. The first couple of years, our lists had a lot of cross outs on them. Then, as our lists went from being new to being a family tradition, the kids adapted. Lists could be maintained year round and much thought went into deciding if they wanted something badly enough to put it on the list.

In keeping with family tradition, here is my list:

1. I want gun laws, similar to those in Japan. I know I can’t stop people from killing other people, but that would at least slow them down.
2. I want every child to have all the physical and mental care they need as a  right.  Perhaps the right to lifers would help me on this one.

3. I want education at all levels to be given more money and thought than weapons and wars get. Then the powers to be would make sure education was funded and effective.

4. I want the world to slow down. I want relationships to be purposeful and valued.

5. I want all children to be an integral part of this world. I want  all children to be nurtured and loved for who they are. Kindness would be a valued characteristic.

6. I want to be healthy enough to enjoy my littles until they are grown. I am innately a rule follower, so I will stick with my five most important wishes.

I do realize nobody gets everything they want… but it would be… a really good Christmas.

5 thoughts on “What I want for Christmas

  1. I keep coming back to this one. I think somewhere between wish #4 and 5, you cover a lot of wish 6. Peace to you and your family this Christmas.

    Deb

  2. Hi! I found your blog through Adoptive Magazine and am enjoying reading your insightful posts. I live in Japan (and am trying to adopt from Japan as a foreigner) and because of gun laws and cultural expectations I feel the safest I have ever felt. I am comfortable walking alone at night and do not hesitate to chat with random people. Many people here also leave their cars and houses unlocked! Wishing you peace and love from Japan!

Leave a Reply

