I didn’t Want to Know

I saw my new neurologist Friday. None of the news was very welcomed. I am still not on any meds for my neurological problems. He said I have  mitochondrial level  disease that can only be treated by symptoms. He order a sleep study for last night because sleep apnea can make the neurological problems worse and he can treat sleep apnea. The Dad and the girls dropped me off a little after eight last night. I was hooked up to monitors using a lot of wires and some sticky stuff. They came in to adjust wires and connectors often and it seemed like it took me forever to fall asleep. I was suppose to wait to hear from the doctor, but the nice technician  let me look at the raw results. I have sleep apnea (no surprise), but I wasn’t expecting to see that my oxygen saturation levels dipped below sixty percent on four different occasions.  I was so tired when I got home that I took a four hour nap.  Next step is to go for calibration.  Right now, I have two little girls who want to be right next to me.

10 thoughts on “I didn’t Want to Know

  1. I have sleep apnea. I was also SOOO exhausted after my sleep study! Do you have to do another night? I had to sleep there a second night with the CPAP machine on so they could make sure it took care of the problem. The CPAP machines takes some getting used to, but I am so in love with it now. Been using it about a year and a half. I feel so much better.

  2. Wow, 60%! I was only abt 88% and how *tired* I was. I didn't like the CPAP night at the sleep lab. But I *really* wanted a CPAP, so I put up with it. (I'm lucky though, the narcolepsy lets me sleep anywhere. The doc said only a narcoleptic sleeps *that* well in a sleep lab.)The CPAP makes a huge difference but I can't say I love it. Probably it is the mask I've got (a go-in-the-nose do-dad.) I was, however, "used to it" after only 2 nights.It isn't like a CPAP is going to give you all the energy your girls are sapping out of you, but you will have a bit more energy, and you will know your are not dying significantly faster than you need to.{{hugs}}

  3. Wow, your levels were really low! I loved my sleep study! No kids climbing on me and waking me up all night long. I asked for late checkout but they wouldn't do it. 🙂 I have sleep apnea, too. The CPAP makes a huge difference for me. I can't stand the thing and have been known to throw the mask across the room in the middle of the night, but I've learned to live with it. I tried many different masks before I found one that worked for me. Hope you feel better soon!

  4. Sorry to hear about this. I know the stress level you are under does not help any health issues. Hope everything is okay. Praying for you today.

Leave a Reply

